Charity Governance Awards 2022 now open to entries (nomination deadline: Wednesday 26 January 2022)

The 2022 Charity Governance Awards are now open for entries, with a chance for charity boards to win a share of the £35,000 prize fund.

Now in their 7th year, the Charity Governance Awards want to shine a light on the very best boards with particular emphasis on small charities – the two Improving Impact categories will now focus on organisations with no more than thirty paid employees.

National and local charities of all sizes can enter for free with a deadline for entries of Wednesday 26 January 2022. Entrants must have been established before 31 December 2018 and be registered in the UK. They can also submit a single entry into only one of the following categories:

o Board Equity, Diversity and Inclusion.
o Transforming with Digital.
o COVID-19: Embracing Opportunity and Harnessing Risk for Long-term Change.
o Improving Impact in Small Charities (0-3 Paid Staff),
o Improving Impact in Small Charities (4-30 Paid Staff).

The winners of all five categories will each receive a £5,000 prize as an unrestricted grant. Runners-up will receive £1,000, and all shortlisted charities will also receive a paid one-year membership to the Association of Chairs for their board and a complimentary place on a Cause4 Trustee Leadership Programme for a new member of the board.

Shortlisted entrants will be announced in April, with the winners revealed in May 2022. Case studies of the shortlisted charities will be featured on the Awards website and free guidance to all charitable boards is offered under the ‘Advice and Resources’ page.

The winners of the 2021 Awards were Green’s Windmill Trust, EdUKaid, the Muslim Women’s Network UK and TLC (Talk, Listen, Change).

The Charity Governance Awards are sponsored and hosted by The Clothworkers’ Company in partnership with charity think tank and consultancy NPC (New Philanthropy Capital); beyond-profit recruitment specialists Prospectus; and volunteer-matching charity Reach Volunteering.

For further information about the awards and how to enter, visit the Charity Governance Awards website.

Image: Birmingham-based the Muslim Women’s Network UK were one of the winners in the 2021 Charity Governance Awards.
Source: UK Fundraising.