Charity Awards 2023 now open to entries (deadline for entries: Monday 27th February 2023)

The prestigious Charity Awards 2023 is now open for applications from registered charities across the UK. The final deadline for entries is Monday 27th February 2023.

Now in its 23rd year, the UK’s biggest and longest-running awards programme will once again recognise and celebrate the vital work of charities up and down the country, culminating in a glittering awards ceremony at the Royal Lancaster London on Wednesday 7 June 2023.

The Charity Awards aims to highlight and applaud those charities that:

o Are innovative.
o Exemplify best practices,
o Deliver sustainable benefit to communities and society in general.

Applications are invited in 10 categories, encompassing the whole range of charitable activity.  This year,  the name of the environmental category has been changed to include ‘animals’, as some animal charities that their work didn’t appear to fit into the existing categories.

As always, the Charity Awards are designed so that any charity – regardless of their size, location or cause – can enter any project and be in with a chance of winning. 

Applications will be considered by the 14-strong judging panel against 6 Hallmarks of Excellence: 

1. Innovation.
2. Value for money.
3. Sustainability.
4. Replicability and/or scalability.
5. Outcomes and effectiveness, and
6. Best practice.

The shortlist will be announced on Wednesday 3 May 2023.  All shortlisted charities are invited to send up to four team members to the Charity Awards gala dinner and ceremony on Wednesday 7th June 2023. There is no charge for attending the presentation ceremony. 

The 2022 Overall Winner, Tommy’s Baby Charity, also took top prize in the Campaigning & Advocacy category for its Miscarriage Matters campaign that persuaded ministers to scrap the policy that required women to have three consecutive miscarriages before they could access even basic treatment or support.

For further information about the Charity Awards 2023 and how to enter, please visit the Charity Awards website.. 

Source: Civil Society News