Bees Needs’ Champion Awards now open to applications (application deadline: 12 May 2024)

The Bees Needs’ Champion Awards recognise and celebrate exceptional things that local authorities, community groups, farmers and businesses have done to support pollinators.  

The Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA) gives these awards to people or organisations that have done inspiring things to help pollinators thrive. For example, by (please note that this is not an exclusive list): 

o Creating a wildflower patch. 
o Educating the local community, or
o Doing special things to help pollinators on your farm or around your workplace 

You can nominate yourself for an award, or you can nominate someone else. 

The Bees’ Needs Champion Awards are part of the UK government’s:

o national pollinator strategy and its
o pollinator action plan

There are 2 award categories. You can enter under either:

1. Communities, or 
2. Farming   

The communities category is for things that local authorities, schools and community groups do to help pollinators.

The farming category is for things that farmers do to help pollinators.

The closing date for entries is Sunday 12th May 2024.

Further information, including the Bees Needs’ Champion Awards application form, can be found on the GOV.UK website.