£35 million Brownfield Land Release Fund 2 allocated to 41 councils across England for regeneration in towns and cities.

The Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities has announced details of 41 local authorities across England that will receive a share of the Brownfield Land Release Fund 2.

Almost £35 million from the £180 million Brownfield Land Release Fund 2 has been allocated to 41 councils for regeneration in towns and cities.

The funding will bring unloved, council-owned land back into use by transforming redundant industrial sites, disused car parks and derelict buildings into new places for people to live.

A total of 59 regeneration projects from Exeter to Sunderland will see over 2,200 homes – including over 800 affordable homes – built for local communities. This is designed to help more young people and families onto the housing ladder and generate up to 7000 new jobs in housing and construction.

This forms the first phase of £180 million Brownfield Land Release Fund which will continue to be rolled out over next two years

The Brownfield Land Release Fund 2 will be delivered through the One Public Estate – a partnership between the Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities, the Office of Government Property and the Local Government Association. Find out more about the latest One Public Estate funding at this link to the Local Government Association website.

The 41 local authorities awarded funding are:

Local Authority BLRF Award (£)
Amber Valley Borough Council 1,033,901
Babergh District Council 210,000
Basildon Borough Council 1,847,037
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council 220,000
Bristol City Council 515,649
Cambridge City Council 643,329
Canterbury City Council 554,500
Chorley Borough Council 650,000
Darlington Borough Council 223,049
Dover District Council 100,535
Epsom & Ewell Borough Council 75,000
Essex County Council 1,119,015
Exeter City Council 293,391
Folkestone & Hythe District Council 465,000
Great Yarmouth Borough Council 237,711
Haringey Council 5,913,369
Harrogate Borough Council 33,000
Havant Borough Council 1,650,000
Hull City Council 175,000
Ipswich Borough Council 3,340,500
Lancaster City Council 2,769,343
London Borough of Barnet 1,598,968
London Borough of Waltham Forest 1,048,946
Mid Devon District Council 280,000
Mid Suffolk District Council 238,000
Mole Valley District Council 90,000
Norfolk County Council 330,000
North East Lincolnshire Council 50,000
Oxford City Council 404,081
Rother District Council 185,000
Sevenoaks District Council 1,215,000
Shropshire Council 334,500
St Helens Borough Council 812,142
Sunderland City Council 1,943,657
Tendring District Council 420,001
Torbay Council 337,748
Warwickshire County Council 153,800
Wealden District Council 300,000
West Sussex County Council 986,722
Wigan Council 506,168
Worthing Borough Council 104,349