A further 50 towns awarded Future High Streets funding

The Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government confirmed yesterday that an additional 50 towns will benefit from the £1 billion Future High Streets Fund.

This brings the total number of high streets funded so far to 100. Over 350 applications were made to the competition.

The funding could be used by successful areas to improve transport and access into town centres, convert empty retail units into new homes and workplaces, and invest in vital infrastructure.

The extension to the shortlist comes on the back of the £3.6 billion Towns Fund announced last month, which included an additional £325 million for the Future High Streets Fund, taking the overall Fund to £1 billion as the Government looks to drive forward local growth.

The Future High Street Fund was launched in December 2018 and is a key part of the government’s plan to renew and reshape town centres and high streets in a way that drives economic growth and sustainably improves living standards.

Further information can be found on the GOV.UK website.

The additional 50 towns are (South West high streets are in bold):

o Dudley – Brierley Hill High Town Centre
o Barrow – Barrow Town Centre
o Dover – Dover Town Centre and Waterfront
o Plymouth – Plymouth City Centre
o South Gloucestershire – Kingswood
o Warwick – Leamington Town Centre
o North Lincolnshire – Scunthorpe
o Blackpool – Blackpool Town Centre
o Fylde – Kirkham Town Centre
o Halton – Runcorn Old Town
o Torridge – Bideford
o North Devon – Barnstaple
o Ashfield – Sutton
o Teignbridge – Newton Abbot
o Barnsley – Barnsley Town Centre
o Portsmouth – Fratton
o Thanet – Ramsgate
o Calderdale – Elland Town Centre
o North East Lincolnshire – Grimsby Town Centre
o Rochdale – Rochdale Town Centre
o Southampton – Heart of the City Quarter
o Wiltshire – Salisbury City Centre
o Newcastle-Under-Lyme – Newcastle-Under-Lyme Town Centre
o Doncaster – Doncaster Waterdale
o Hambleton – Northallerton
o South Kesteven – Grantham
o Redcar and Cleveland – Loftus
o Nuneaton and Bedworth – Nuneaton Town Centre
o Tamworth – Tamworth Town Centre
o Bolton – Bolton Town Centre
o Torbay – Paignton
o Scarborough – Scarborough Town Centre
o Carlisle – Carlisle City Centre
o Worcester – Blackfriars, Northern City Centre
o Huntingdonshire – St Neots
o Northumberland – Blyth Town Centre
o Tendring – Clacton Town Centre
o Wiltshire – Trowbridge
o Rossendale – Bacup Town Centre
o Harrow – Wealdstone
o Portsmouth – Commercial Road
o Thurrock – Grays Town Centre
o South Holland – Holbeach
o Harlow – Harlow Town Centre
o Wandsworth – Putney Town Centre
o Wycombe – High Wycombe
o Forest of Dean – Cinderford Town Centre
o Allerdale – Maryport Town Centre
o Middlesbrough – Middlesbrough Centre, and
o Greenwich – Woolwich Town Centre

Image: the Pannier Market in Barnstaple, North Devon