50 towns progress to Phase 2 of the Future High Streets Fund

The government has announced the 50 high streets that have successfully progressed to the second phase of the £675 million Future High Streets Fund.

Towns invited to phase 2 of the programme in the South West of England are:

o Penzance (Cornwall).
o Poole (Dorset).
o Taunton (Somerset), and
o Yeovil (Somerset).

Those successful towns will  receive up to £150,000 of new funding to work up detailed project proposals, based on their initial plans.  The Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government will work closely with them, focussing on those places that have “shovel ready” projects where there might be opportunities to accelerate these.

The Future High Streets Fund was launched in December 2018 as part of the government’s plan for the high street.

A list of all 50 shortlisted towns can be found at this LINK.

Further information about the Future High Streets Fund  can be found on the GOV.UK website.

Image: Taunton, Somerset.